top of page

Same Sentence - Writing Prompt

Writing Prompt: “Start your story with something that is genuinely upbeat and happy, no double meanings. End it with the same sentence, but this time it's chilling, dark, horrifying etc.”

He was mine, all mine.

I love him so much. The way his eyes sparkle in the sunlight, his little smile whenever he cracks a stupid joke, the feeling of his hand in mine, it just makes my heart swell.

We were watching a Disney film, wrapped up blanket after blanket to keep up warm. His head was on my lap, and I was stroking his soft black hair, watching the movie unfold. He hated Disney films, but he always watched them with me for some reason. A buzz rang in the air and he reached out to pick up his phone.

“Hey,” Brad said sweetly after checking the caller ID, “I just realized I need to make a phone call real quick – I’ll be right back okay?”

“Okay,” I smiled back.

As he stood up he planted a small kiss on my forehead and walked towards the kitchen. She stared after him and sighed - I don’t know what I’d do without him. He cheers me up when I’m down; he’s wonderful, perfect even. I wouldn’t change him for the world.

Suddenly my stomach growled and I decided to go to kitchen to get a snack. Reaching up to one of the cupboards I got a packet of popcorn and placed it in the microwave.

“…babe you know I can’t come over right now…” His voice strained in a harsh whisper coming from the landing.

I paused. Silence.

“As much as I want to come over right now and just be with Kate…”

I took ahold of the railing tightly and walked quietly up the stairs.

As I reached the landing I saw his back turned against me, still talking to ‘Kate,’ “Look, Kate, I love you! But I’m at my mum’s for dinner and she’d-”

“Kill you if she found out you were having an affair behind her back!” I screamed, tears falling down my face.

He swore under his breath, “I’ll have to call you back-”

I snatch his phone out of his hand and shout into the receiver, “No he won’t- not now not ever!”

Without thinking I threw his phone down the stairs.

“What the hell are you doing?!” Brad shouted, pushing past her to retrieve his phone.

“You’re mine – god dammit, MINE!”

And with that I pushed him down the stairs. She stared at his motionless body for what felt like hours. Eventually she walked down the stairs, a wide smile plastered upon her face. Kneeling beside his body, she lifted his blood soaked hair and studied his expression. He looked peaceful now with his Kate gone. Now he had me, and only me. He was mine, all mine.


bottom of page