top of page

Not anymore


They haven't looked at me for days. Just their hands, there was a time when my sister and I could play together when my dad cooked meat. Not anymore. My mom used to laugh and talk to aunt sally when my dad cooked outside. Not anymore. Come to think about it aunt sally doesn't come around anymore. Nobody does. Ever since the phones disappeared everything is different. When sissy fell there was no one to help. No one but me. I tried to call 911 but there were no phones. No one was used to it then. They are now. I'm turning 7 today. I was going to have a party but mom couldn't text the other moms so no one came. Dad said he would cook outside anyway cause it used to be my favourite. not anymore. When sissy fell I couldn't lift the lid up and now it's to late. Now I can lift the lid even though dad tells me not to. I used to think time out was the worst thing that could happen. Not anymore. Dad always told us to stay away from the grill but we never listened. Not anymore. Now all mom does is look sadly at her hand and I know she is thinking about sissy and how one of the phones that was taken for granted could have saved her life. Dad only used his phone for work and football games. But I think that he thinks about sissy too. Sissy and I used to celebrate together. Not anymore. It wasn't a problem when I didn't talk before because sissy was my voice. Not anymore. I'm glad no other kids came to my birthday. It would have been wrong to have sissy's friends but not sissy. Dad goes inside to get the meat, mom doesn't move. I walk over to the grill. If sissy did this it can't be that bad, right? I lift the lid to the grill waiting for mom to tell me not to like she did when I was little and got to close to the oven. She doesn't move. It's hot as I fall. I think this is how sissy felt. and then as the pain claims me I hear a scream. I'm screaming. I never thought I knew how to make a sound. Not anymore. Sissy and were apart. Not Anymore.


bottom of page